Stages & Phases

Standard

Its crazy how much my daughter is changing every day.  Just when I think I know her mannerisms she switches it up.  I realize now that these stages are just phases, and she is whizzing straight through each phase like a Boss.  Once she started turning over on her own, you couldn’t stop her. So she went through a real wiggly phase.  You couldn’t even change her diaper without her flipping over and wiggling. Then she hated being laid back to change her, so she would cry.  She can turn on and off that cry like a switch.  So I would just go at the same, calm pace because just because it’s taking longer to change her I still don’t mind.  I feel like she has to get the wiggle out of her system. Turns out me staying the same and not reacting so much to her, sort of outburst of fussiness, would allow her to learn.  Learn maybe that its ok to fuss alittle and wiggle around and mommy is here in case she needs me.  So for about a month putting her on the changing table was a project, once she flipped herself over on the table she would talk in her baby babble almost sounding proud of herself for accomplishing the table flip.  I would lean down and say something silly to her and she giggles.  That phase is over.  She now lays on the changing table like she used to, I don’t need to keep flipping her back over to get her diaper on right.  At the back end of the changing table flipping was the whiny phase.  This literally just ended today it seems.  Isabella has been a great communicator since birth.  I’ve always known when she was hungry, tired, cranky or had a dirty diaper.  Our wordless exchange of thoughts and feeling has come very natural.  When the whiny phase started it made me start to think what am I doing wrong?  Why is she not happy when she finishes her bottle, shes not happy playing with that toy she loved yesterday, her stuffed puppy is not making her smile in the morning like it always had.  It was another phase.  Her way of communicating shifted to a screeching whine that only a mother, father or very patient grandparent could bare.  I let her whine, and I didn’t change my pace.  I can’t make a bottle appear out of thin air and I can’t blink to magically replace a dirty diaper.  Her whining can not hurt her.    I can see how a whiny baby might get a parent flustered, but controlling your fluster is what being a parent is all about.  So many things can change and you have to be willing to roll with it.  After all, there are so many worse things a baby could be doing than whining.  This phase came and went so fast to my delight.  This morning she woke up a cooing, babbling, smiling baby.  She gave herself a bottle so I could make my coffee and get started on the day.  Today is a work day for me, so having her so content to play with her little Fisher Price Cellphone and stuffed puppy in her bouncy chair all morning so I can get ready for work is an amazing start to the day.  Life is good with my beautiful baby girl.

Leave a Reply

